BraveNewEgypt

Christiane Amanpour Interviews Mubarak

leave a comment »

Christiane Amanpour of ABC News has been granted a special interview with Mubarak as breaks his media silence. Read about it here.

I have no doubts that Mubarak loves his country. And there is a part of me that knows that if he suddenly packed his bags and left there would be chaos in Egypt. But the changes and the reforms must begin today. We can no longer wait for tomorrow or wait for another 8 months. Its a predicament that we as Egyptians must face together.

Mubarak’s main soundbites:

“I was very unhappy about yesterday. I do not want to see Egyptians fighting each other.”

“I don’t care what people say about me. Right now I care about my country, I care about Egypt.”

“I would never run away,” “I will die on this soil.”

I find these words extremely believable. While in the midst of this uprising Mubarak’s reputation and achievements have been collectively dismissed, and on BraveNewEgypt I have been very critical, I cannot deny that Mubarak has done great things for Egypt, and that he is a patriotic and proud man. His defiance in the face of adversity is still clear. I feel that with regards to his sadness towards the infighting, the truth has been twisted. I believe he is sad, but I think that he feels employing thugs to attack the pro-government protesters was a price that had to be paid in order to regain control and stability. This is a mistake in my opinion, but one can understand his point of view.

“I never intended to run again. I never intended Gamal to be President after me.”

This part was extremely intriguing. It is also difficult because all the events of the past few years indicated absolutely the opposite. Gamal Mubarak was widely seen as the successor to Mubarak, and even if he wasn’t the President had made no indications that he was interested in relinquishing his position.

Finally, when responding to a question regarding Obama’s stance on the events in Egypt, Mubarak said he had told Obama, “You don’t understand the Egyptian culture and what would happen if I step down now.” This is probably true, and it ties back to the fact that if he really did pick up and leave there will very likely be chaos.

We as Egyptians find ourselves between a rock and a hard place. We want immediate change and freedom, but we also want to ensure that our country does not descend into chaos and that there is an end to the violence.

Written by BraveNewEgypt

February 3, 2011 at 9:24 pm

Leave a Reply

